Welcome to my blog!

To Be Sorted Summer 2011 002

Hello.  My name is Janice Bowles and I want to welcome you to my blog.  In this little corner of my world, I will be blogging about all facets of relationships, including what I consider to be a very different take on infidelity.

So what makes me an expert?  Well, I’m a therapist for one thing with many years of experience helping couples sort through their relationship quagmires.  For another, I have been in lots of different kinds of relationships:  casual dating (lots of it),  unmarried and living together, exclusive marriage, open marriage, no strings attached sexual relationships,  and now a committed relationship with my ex-spouse who had an affair when that definitely wasn’t a part of our agreement.  I have dumped people and been dumped; hurt people and been hurt.  I’ve run the gamut, and as I blog along, I will talk to you about all of it, hopefully giving you information that will stimulate your thought and help you to have something fresher, deeper, and more satisfying with your partner.  I really want your input as well.  Tell me about how you relate to the things I write, as well as about your own experiences in the relationship wars.  Let’s use this blog to learn from each other.

I will tell you this: the journey my husband and I took together was some kind of an adventure, one that I never would have initiated, but now that it’s over, I’m so glad it happened.  It helped us take a giant leap forward to the wonderful, loving, respectful partnership that we now enjoy.  I plan to write more books on this fascinating, maddening subject and am open to including some of your experiences and ideas as well.

Here is my first tip: don’t try to fit yourself into a relationship structure that doesn’t suit you and your partner just because it’s what society, or mom, or your best friend says you should do.  Explore, find what works best for you, and then give it your all.  You will never hear me say that one kind of relationship is better than another because I don’t believe that.  But I will say that having the courage to do it “your way” will definitely give you the most bang for your relationship buck.

So have I piqued your interest?  I hope so.  And I want you to know that my very sincere hope in doing this blog is that my experience, both professional and personal, and the wisdom I’ve gained along the way will help you to have a deeper, better, more fun-filled relationship with your honey.  And I know your input about your own experiences and how you feel about what I write will certainly help me.  Thanks for logging onto my blog.  I’m eager to take this interesting journey with you.

Check out my book, The Affair: From Breakdown to Breakthrough, A Therapist’s Real-Life Journey on all Amazon websites worldwide (Kindle editions), such as amazon.com.  It’s a powerful story about my journey to the other side of my husband’s affair.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Your honesty and expertise provide a larger world view regarding relationships and self-exploration. I so admire the risk you have taken in writing this blog, given how divided our culture has become in terms of how we define lifestyle choices.

  2. Okay I have to ask, what do you think of the whole Tiger Woods debacle? Any thoughts on Tiger’s perspective?

  3. I LOVE your Blog 🙂 I especially enjoy your words of wisdom, your sense of humor, the way you connect with us – the readers, and most of all your ability to shine light on the Spiritual aspect of any situation.

  4. Thanks for answering my inquiry!! I am reading a very interesting book on the subject of marriage–Committed by the woman who wrote Eat, Pray, Love. Very fascinating, can’t wait for your book to come out, the, excerpts are great!

Leave a comment