GRATITUDE: A POWERFUL PATH TO A HAPPIER LIFE

Do you believe that something as simple as being thankful can profoundly transform your life?  Probably not unless you’ve experienced it yourself.  I sure wasn’t a believer.  I kept hearing about the transformational capability of gratitude and my response was, yeah, right.  What have I got to be grateful for?  At the time, my life was so messed up, it felt like scrambled eggs in a hot skillet.  But because of that, I was willing to try anything…even being grateful.

I began saying thank you for things I normally took for granted: my computer that gave me access to so much information, the refrigerator that kept my food cold and fresh, the clean, hot water that poured out of the shower, the beautiful plant sitting in my living room, my eyes that enabled me to see, my ears that heard the sweet songs of birds, my strong legs and feet that got me around, my heart that beat steadily without my even thinking about it.  And magically, when I gave thanks for even the smallest things, my mood would shift.  Sometimes the shift would be slight, but lots of times, it was profound.  I learned that you cannot be grateful and depressed at the same time.  A valuable lesson indeed.

Not only does gratitude change you in the moment, it plants the seeds for your future.  You’ve heard about the Law of Attraction, what you put out you get back.  Well, it’s true.  The universe acts like a boomerang.  Put out negative energy, and negativity is what you get back.  Put out positive energy, and the universe responds in kind.  When you are grateful, you plant seeds that down the line blossom into positive experiences.

Look around.  What do you see that you can be grateful for?  Your phone that keeps you connected to friends, your iPod that plays your favorite music, your house that shelters you from the weather, the colorful painting on your wall.  How do you feel?  A little better?  A lot better?

If you make being grateful a regular practice, I guarantee you will be a happier person.  Gratitude, being of the highest energy vibration, is the key that unlocks a better life. I hope you try it and learn for yourself how powerful gratitude can be.

Thank you for reading my post. I am grateful  for you!

Check out my book, The Affair: From Breakdown to Breakthrough, A Therapist’s Real-life Journey, for more great tips and insights about relationships. You can buy it on Kindle worldwide from all Amazon websites, including www.amazon.com

 

Leave a Reply

