Kim Kardashian: Staged Reality?

I’m sorry, I know there are lots of people out there who are taking vicarious pleasure in Kim Kardashian’s wedding extravaganza, but I’m not one of them. Frankly, I think it’s disgusting…a gross, ostentatious display that is particularly offensive given the financial misery so many people are currently experiencing. I could care less about the details which they seem to be dolling out drip by drip as if we are all waiting breathlessly to know what Mom is going to wear, what kind of cake they will serve, or who’s coming. Who cares?

With all of the product placement, I doubt she’ll have to spend much at all for this 20 million dollar wedding. Not that she can’t afford it, but that’s beside the point. The point is she’s decided to take this opportunity to promote herself rather than make it a sweet statement of her love for Kris. I don’t know him, but I do know he is a pro basketball player, which is the second of the Kardashian clan to marry a basketball player. Is that part of the glamour too? Part of keeping her “fans” tuned in? I hate to be cynical, but it does make me wonder.

What is this fasination so many have with these reality people? They have no talent; they just let us peek into their private lives, which to me (yes, I’ve watched The Kardashians a couple of times) is completely uninteresting. I tuned in when Kloe married Lamar Odom because I am a Laker’s fan and Lamar plays for the Lakers. Very quickly, however, I got bored with the whiney voices they all seem to have and the mostly shallow conerns of their lives. Do they stage these episodes for the shock value?…(note Kloe letting us watch as she gets a gynocological exam, legs spread, doc with his nose under the sheet. This is interesting? I can hardly stand to be there for my own gyn exam, much less watch someone else go through it. How could she invite her “fans” to participate in that? Gross.

What are we coming to when this is interesting to so many people? Why are we so fascinated by such banal goings on? I admit, I’m a sports fan so I understand the interest in watching something for sheer diversion. Diversion from our troubles, diversion from the sad things going on in the world, etc. etc. But sports does have a redeeming value: seeing the athleticism of finely tuned athletes, the fun of the competition, the value of bringing communities of people together to cheer for their team. But a reality show that’s not really reality, but what I suspect is mostly staged so as to keep the audience hooked seems to have no value. Do you watch the Kardashians, or other reality shows? If so, please clue me in on what’s so compelling about it. I would really love to understand the fascination.

Check out my book, The Affair: From Breakdown to Breakthrough, A Therapist’s Real-life Journey, for great tips and insights about relationships. You can read a synopsis of the book on my website, www.infidelityandaffairs.com and buy it worldwide from all Amazon websites (both print and Kindle) and Barnes and Noble.

 

Leave a Reply

